Subsection 4.—Quebec

The Legislative Assembly of Quebec has 92 members and the Legislative Council has 24 members nominated for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The Executive council is composed of the Lieutenant-Governor and his advisers, the Ministers of the Crown. These are: the Premier, Attorney General and President of the Executive Council; the Provincial Treasurer; the Minister of Lands and Forests; the Minister of Health; the Minister of Municipal Affairs; the Minister of Colonization; the Minister of Mines; the Minister of Agriculture; the Minister of Roads; the Minister of Labour; the Minister of Game and Fisheries; the Minister of Public Works; the Minister of Social Welfare and Youth; the Minister of Trade and Commerce; the Provincial Secretary; and six Ministers without portfolio.

The Legislative Assembly and also the Legislative Council have the power to bring forward bills relating to civil and administrative matters and to amend or repeal the laws that already exist. A bill, to be approved by the Lieutenant-Governor, must have received the assent of both Houses. Only the Legislative Assembly can bring forward a bill requiring the expenditure of public money. The extreme length of a Legislature is five years.

16.—Lieutenant-Governors of Quebec, 1867-1948, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-48, and Present Ministry as at July 28, 1948

Note.—See headnote to Table 13, p. 104.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission
Sir Narcisse F. Belleau. Sir Narcisse F. Belleau. Rene Edouard Caron. Luc Letellier de St-Just. Theodore Robitaille. L. F. R. Masson. A. R. Angers. Sir Joseph A. Chapleau. Louis A. Jette. Sir Louis A. Jette. Sir Charles A. P. Pelletier.	Jan. 31, 18681 Feb. 11, 1873 Dec. 15, 1876 July 26, 1879 Oct. 4, 1884 Oct. 24, 1887 Dec. 5, 1892 Jan. 20, 1898 Feb. 1, 19031	Right Hon. Sir Charles FITZPATRICK L. P. BRODEUR N. PERODEAU Sir LOMER GOUIN H. G. CARROLL E. L. PATENAUDE Major-Gen. Sir EUGENE FISET.	Oct. 21, 1918 Oct. 31, 1923 Jan. 8, 1924 Dec. 31, 1928 Apr. 2, 1929 Apr. 29, 1934 Dec. 30, 1939

¹Second term.

Legislatures, 1934-481

Date of	Legislature	Number of	Date of	Date of
Election		Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 24, 1931 Nov. 25, 1935 Aug. 17, 1936 Oct. 25, 1939 Aug. 8, 1944	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly 22nd General Assembly	1 4 5	Nov. 3, 1931	June 11, 1936 Sept. 23, 1939 June 29, 1944

¹ The Ministries from 1934-48 were: 16th Ministry, sworn in July 8, 1920, under the leadership of Hon. L. A. Taschereau; 17th Ministry, sworn in June 11, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. A. Godbout; 18th Ministry sworn in Aug. 24, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. M. Duplessis; 19th Ministry, sworn in Nov. 10, 1939, under the leadership of Hon. A. Godbout; 20th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 30, 1944, under the leadership of Hon. Maurice L. Duplessis.